Berry Vegan Breakfast Scones

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Scones on a Sunday morning. One of my work mates pointed out to me this afternoon that I had “lived the dream” eating scones on a Sunday morning. Thinking about it now, I realize that, yes, I did live the a very stereotypical Sunday morning as I rolled out of bed and baked some fresh scones only to enjoy them later with a warm cup of tea. These scones are dairy-free, sugar free and use part whole wheat flour. A healthy and delicious way to start the morning out right. All I can say is they are tasty and I’m pretty sure my roommates liked them too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Berry Vegan Breakfast Scones (recipe adapted from neverhomemaker)

Ingredients (makes 8 scones):

1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup large flake oats
1/8 cup crushed walnuts (I just mushed a bag of walnuts on the counter with my hand=gourmet right?)
1/4 cup honey
1/4 cup Virgin Cononut oil (the type that actually smells like coconut), you can also sub in real butter or any other non-dairy butter
pinch of salt
2 tablespoons ground flax seeds
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup + 2 tablespoons milk (you can use any milk)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup frozen berries

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly grease a cookie sheet with butter of your choice.

2. Place the flours, coconut oil,  and honey in a bowl and blend well.

3. Then mix in the salt, flax, and baking soda.

4. Add the milk and vanilla extract; mix until just moistened. Do not over-mix.

5. Fold in the berries and walnuts. Let sit for a few minutes until chilled by the berries.

6. Scoop the dough onto a clean, well-floured work surface. Loosely shape into a circle and pat down.

7. Cut into wedges and then place on a cookie sheet. Note: you can also do drop scones by just scooping large spoonfuls of dough onto the baking sheet, but I think wedges look pretty.

8. Bake for 20-22 minutes, until deep golden brown color. Let cool before serving.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

6 Comments on “Berry Vegan Breakfast Scones”

  1. georgiakatefood says:

    These look so delicious!

  2. Mum says:

    These look great. Can’t wait to try this recipe.

  3. cathka says:

    They look fantastic! I’ll give’em a shot next sunday, and hopefully not forget about them like I did my oatmeal cookies yesterday.

  4. Anna says:

    They look delish can’t wait to try them out this weekend

  5. linux vps says:

    I don’t know if it’s just me or if perhaps everyone else encountering issues with your site. It appears as though some of the text within your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please comment and let me know if this is happening to them too? This may be a problem with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before. Many thanks|


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers