The Luke-doesn’t-like-breakfast-foods simple breakfast scones

My brother, Luke, has trouble liking breakfast foods. Quite often I find him at 9am eating Thai curry, or tomato soup with triscuits…not that this is a bad thing. But when you are like me and eat oatmeal EVERY morning it can be painful to watch. I think breakfast is the most important meal of the day and so I took on the challenge of making something he could eat for breakfast that wasn’t curry or tomato soup. I decided to make ordinary scones for his breakfasts. Here’s how I did it:

The Luke-doesn’t-like-breakfast-foods simple breakfast scones:

Recipe adapted from The Joy of Cooking Cookbook.

1 ¾  cup all-purpose flour
2 ¼ tsp baking powder
1 tbsp sugar
½ tsp salt (I used Kosher salt)
¼ cup cold butter
2 large eggs
1/3 cup milk of choice (I used soy)
Salt or sugar for sprinkling the tops

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 450°F.

2. Mix first four dry ingredients well and cut in butter until well blended.

3. In a separate bowl, beat eggs and reserve 1-2 tbsp for brushing.

4. Add the remaining egg and milk to the dry mixture.

5. Mix minimally until it just starts to stick together. Form into desired shape on a lined baking sheet.

6. Brush scones with egg wash and sprinkle with either salt or sugar.

7. Bake for 15 minutes until golden brown.

Healthy substitutions: I feel like you can add some mix-ins to this simple recipe. I might add raisins, craisins, or even cinnamon to add some additional flavour to these. You should be able to sub half of the flour for whole wheat.

Note: The trick here is to avoid over mixing to achieve a light and fluffy scone.

Even though he looks mad here, he enjoyed them.

2 Comments on “The Luke-doesn’t-like-breakfast-foods simple breakfast scones”

  1. Elizabeth Oberhofer says:

    Love it Ivy. I think I have seen the guy in the picture before. He looks very familiar!!!! He looks just like my son who ALSO does not like regular breakfast food. I have seen him eating beef stew for breakfast…I kid you not!!!!

  2. […] located on the most westerly tip of Vancouver Island, I revisited one of my featured recipes-classic scones. In fact I believe it was the first recipe I ever blogged. I decided to adapt the recipe to make a […]


Leave a Reply

