Asian Almond Stir Fry [Vegan]

I am not asian, but sometimes I think somewhere down the family tree, there were some asian influences. I love bubble tea, sushi, and origami. I get a red face when I drink sake and have recently become interested in bike touring around Japan. So to complement my asian roots, I made a stir fry incorporating the asian flavours of soy sauce, red pepper flakes, ginger and garlic. You can serve this on top of quinoa, brown rice, white rice, or soba noodles.

The veggies:

1/2 tbsp olive oil (or canola oil)
1 clove garlic
1 pepper chopped(I used yellow)
4 large mushrooms chopped
1 cup snap peas
1 1/2 cups chopped broccoli
10 toasted almonds for garnish

The sauce (adapted from Vive le Vegan!):

1/4 cup almond butter (peanut butter may also work)
1/2 cup almond milk
4 tbsp rice vinegar or apple cider vinegar
1 clove diced garlic
3 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp diced ginger
1/2 tbsp toasted sesame oil
1/2 tsp crushed red pepper

Method:

1. Saute the garlic and oil for 2 minutes until fragrant.

2.Add all veggies except mushrooms.

3. Cook on medium for 8 to 10 minutes then add mushrooms and cook until mushrooms are cooked.

4. Meanwhile put all of the sauce ingredients on a blender and blend until well combined.

5. Put veggies on low heat and stir in sauce.

3 Comments on “Asian Almond Stir Fry [Vegan]”

  1. Elizabeth Oberhofer says:

    Wow Ivy, this looks fantastic. I can’t hardly wait to cook with you.

  2. Lisa says:

    THIS LOOKS AMAZING

  3. Marta costa(friend of Mary Jane Oberhofer ) says:

    This looks great I can’t wait to try your recipi.
    I’m also vegetarian and somewhat vegan ( I eat fish, clams and crab) I also love to cook!!!


Leave a Reply

