Cinnamon-Rhubarb Oatmeal [Vegan]

Yesterday my dog Hailey and I harvested some rhubarb from the small rhubarb patch in our backyard. It was difficult for Hailey because she doesn’t have thumbs, so I did most of the picking. Since my dad isn’t here to show me how he makes his amazingly tasty rhubarb crisp (recipe yet to come), I decided to try it in my oatmeal.

Here’s how to make Cinnamon-Rhubarb Oatmeal:

1/2 cup water
3/4 cup chopped rhubarb
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp allspice (optional-I just have recently been putting allspice in everything)
1 tbsp crushed flax seeds (optional)
2 tbsp milk (I used almond milk)
2 tbsp crushed walnuts
1-2 tbsp maple syrup

Method:

1. Heat water and rhubarb on medium heat until rhubarb is mushy.

2. Add oats and remaining ingredients (except maple syrup) and cook on medium-low heat for 5 minutes until oats are cooked.

Serve with maple syrup (or brown sugar). I also put walnuts and flax seeds on top.

Hailey picking rhubarb

Leave a Reply

