Quinoa-So-Fresh Salad [Vegan]

Today I met a russian free-style rapper at work. He inspired me to seriously consider what I would be called if I became a rapper, since this is one of my long term goals-to become a rapper. I think I would choose “Quinoa-So-Fresh”. Not really, but maybe.

Here’s how to live up to your rapper name with the freshest quinoa salad in town. Adapted from a recipe from The Vegan Table which I totally snagged from the library among other sweet vegan cookbooks.

1 cup quinoa
2 1/2 cups water (or stock for more flavour)
1 shallot or 1/2 onion diced (optional)
1 zucchini or cucumber diced
12 cherry tomatoes sliced in half
1/2 red pepper diced
2 garlic cloves minced
1/2 cup parsley roughly chopped
1/4-1/3 cup mint roughly chopped
1/3 cup lemon juice
3 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
dried currants (optional-I added these for leftovers in my lunch today and it added a very nice element of sweetness)

Method:

1. Rinse quinoa. Bring water/stock and quinoa to a boil, then let simmer covered for 10-15 minutes until quinoa if fluffy. Let cool.

2. Prepare vegetables and mix everything in a large bowl.

3. Serve with some fresh rap.

 

 

One Comment on “Quinoa-So-Fresh Salad [Vegan]”

  1. Mum says:

    made this one tonight with some left over quinoa. Put califower and tomatoes and arugula instead of the veggies listed. Great recipe Ivy.


Leave a Reply

