Belly Warming Autumn Squash Soup [Vegan]

I was inspired to make a warm squash soup upon my return from my rather chilly field trip. I was also inspired by my impulsive purchase of a variety of squash while grocery shopping. The great thing about this soup is it is creamy and smooth without using a food pro or actual cream.

Ingredients:
1 small onion (diced)
1 clove garlic (minced)
1 tsp olive oil
1/2 cup rinsed red lentils (optional-I used these to add some protein)
6 cups veggie stock or water
3 halves of assorted squash (you could just use two smaller squash)
1 tsp rosemary
1 tsp thyme
2 1/2 tsp ground ginger
salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350F and place squash face side down in baking dish with 2 inches of water. Cook squash for about an hour until flesh is tender. Saute onion and garlic in olive oil until tender.

2. Add lentils and water/stock until lentils are tender.

3. When squash are finished, remove form the oven and scrape flesh into soup breaking it up in smaller pieces (it should “puree” as the soup simmers).

4. Add spices and simmer until all ingredients are blended well, about 10 minutes.

P.S. To make the little toasts. Brush sliced pita bread with olive oil, sprinkle with salt, thyme and rosemary and toast in oven (350F) until lighter brown than this…I burnt them a tad.

One Comment on “Belly Warming Autumn Squash Soup [Vegan]”

  1. shadow says:

    Nice looking soup Ivy. I made squash soup this weekend as well….with my squash that I purchased in Van.


Leave a Reply

