Spicy Roasted Chickpeas [Vegan]

I recently returned home to Calgary for the summer after finishing my undergrad degree at UBC. Yay…actually kind of a nervous “yay”-but a “yay” nonetheless. I have had a few days to settle in at home before I start work and what better time to experiment with my cooking! Today I cooked a big batch of chickpeas (which I am going to use for hummus-recipe coming soon) and decided to try out roasted chickpeas. I’ve tried them before but they have never been this tasty so I thought it would be selfish not to share this recipe.

Spicy Roasted Chickpeas (adapted from culinaryadventuresinthekitchen)

Ingredients:
4 cups cooked chickpeas* (see note)
2 Tbsp olive oil
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp ground coriander
1/2 tsp chile powder
1/2 tsp paprika
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1/8 tsp ground allspice
1/4 tsp ground ginger
1/8 tsp cayenne pepper
pinch of ground cloves
1 tsp salt

*Note: you can use the canned variety if you wish (2 cans worth), but I cooked them by soaking dried chickpeas overnight and simmering for 1 hour the next day.

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350F.

2. If using canned beans rinse well and drain. If not, drain beans well and pat dry if necessary.

3. Stir olive oil into beans to coat well and sprinkle spices until well coated. Place in one layer on a baking sheet and bake for 45-50 minutes or until lightly brown and crunchy texture.

One Comment on “Spicy Roasted Chickpeas [Vegan]”

  1. Lisa says:

    Looks fantastic Ivy 🙂 I’m going to try it out!


Leave a Reply

