Tips from the kitchen: The Stoneground Truth

Besides being really excited about my new Facebook page debut for Ivysmushbowl, I have also been doing a lot of thinking about what else I could share with you, other than recipes of course. And then it dawned on me. Although, yes, I do create lots of wonderful, tasty, and healthy recipes in my kitchen; I also have lots of disasters and make tonnes of mistakes. Nobody’s perfect. Rather than keep all of that a secret, I thought I would start a little “Tips from the Kitchen” segment in which I will share with you what I have learned as I experiment and play with ingredients in my kitchen.

Image

A lesson about stoneground flour.

I purchased some stoneground flour from my local organic produce and grocery store thinking it would bake up similarly to the regular whole wheat flour that I am used to using for banana bread. Imagining a fluffy, soft banana bread, I began mixing the ingredients using only the stoneground flour. I was in my happy space. When the loaf came out of the oven, I noticed it was a little dense and grainy in texture. Still delicious, but not at all the texture I was expecting from the loaf.

Lesson learned? Not all flours are not created equal. This “stoneground” flour seemed very heavy compared to my regular whole wheat flour. I’ve used 100% whole wheat flour in some recipes producing a nice fluffy bread, while other flours can be so dense. This is probably due to the fact that there are different types of wheat that flour are made from and some achieve a softer texture than others. I think this dense, grainy flour is best suited for things like cookies and granola bars-which are already quite dense themselves.

Having said all of this here is the recipe I used to make this dense but delicious whole wheat banana bread:

Stoneground Truth Banana Bread

1/4 cup melted coconut oil
scant 1/2 cup brown sugar
1 egg
3 tbsp milk of choice (I used soy milk)
3 medium bananas
 (I used 3 frozen bananas, thawed out)
1 tsp vanilla
 extract
1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
4 tbsp seeds (I used 1 tbsp each ground flax seeds and chia seeds)
1/2 cup oat flour
1/4 cup whole oats
1/2 tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/2 cup chopped dates

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 325F. Mix all wet ingredients (first 6  ingredients listed) in a large mixing bowl.

2. Next combine remaining dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Add dry ingredients to wet mixture and stir until well mixed.

3. Turn out batter into a greased or lined loaf pan and bake for about 1 hour, until a knife inserted in the centre of the loaf comes out clean.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2 Comments on “Tips from the kitchen: The Stoneground Truth”

  1. Frank says:

    Hi Ivy my name is frank. 100 percent whole wheat. Flour from what i have researched is Often times mostly white flour with most or some of the bran added back in
    I know multigrain flours are quite often just white flour with some seeds thrown in !!
    I bake with stoneground and it bares no resemblance to
    Whole wheat flour in the finished product
    PS. Neat name for your site!! Nice story!!


Leave a Reply

