Curry-in-a-Hurry Wraps

Image

I was blessed with a bunch of delicious leftover from a recent visit from my family. During the May long weekend we toured around Vancouver on our bikes and on foot and gosh did we get hungry! I’ve probably mentioned this before, but my dad is an amazing cook and always inspires me to make delicious healthy recipes. One of his famous and ridiculously easy recipes is his “Meal-in-a-pan” dish which is very adaptable to any ingredients you might have lying around. Needless to say daddo made this while visiting and now I have leftovers in the fridge. To use these leftovers, I was inspired by a wrap I got at Whole Foods the other day which put me back 6 bucks! But look-you can be a Whole Foods chef and make your own!

Meal-in-a-pan (recipe from Dad) 

Ingredients: 

3/4 cup lentils (any kind-I used green)
3/4 cup rice (any kind-I used brown)
2 small shallots or 1/2 onion chopped fine
1 clove garlic crushed
2 big leaves of kale, chard or a big handful of spinach (anything green and leafy) chopped fine (optional)
1/2 cup veggie chopped fine (you can use carrots, mushrooms, red peppers, etc) 
2 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp Garam Masala
1 ½ tsp Curry Powder (any kind – mild, medium, hot)
salt and pepper to taste
3 cups vegetable broth (any kind)

Method

 1. Saute first 6 ingredients over medium heat in the oil. Add Garam Masala and curry powder after about 5 minutes. Saute another 3 minutes while stirring to mix well. 

2. Pour in vegetable broth and cover on low heat for 45 minutes or so until all liquid is absorbed. 

Image

Curry Wraps

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of Meal-in-a-pan curry rice mixture 
1 tbsp mango chutney
1 handful of spinach 
1 tortilla wrap 

Method:

1. Place all ingredients in wrap roll it up and enjoy! 

4 Comments on “Curry-in-a-Hurry Wraps”

  1. Mum says:

    Awesome Ivy, glad to see you are enjoying the leftovers. These wraps look delicious.

  2. Daddo says:

    Thanks for the promo Ivy. You taught me everything I know about cooking. Nice photos.

  3. Batman says:

    HI!!! I wish I had parents passionate about veganism/vegetarianism as yours are. But maybe I can inspire them lol. Heartwarming comments.

    • ivysmushbowl says:

      Hi! Yes my parents are pretty much the best ever. Maybe you could cook them some nice vegan meals (without telling them its vegan) and they can judge for themselves! Good luck!


Leave a Reply

