Simple Spring Superfood Salad

Image

I owe it to my office-mate for inspiring this recipe. I was eager to make my first harvest of the year on the greens (kale and chard) I have recently planted in my garden and thought this was the perfect recipe to commemorate the beginning of the growing season. So out I went this morning into the garden in my rubber boots and pyjama pants to harvest my greens-I didn’t quite get a full salads worth so I supplemented what I picked with some store bought dino kale. This salad is so simple, healthy and perfect for bringing for lunch to the office on those busy days. 

Image

Simple Spring Superfood Salad…try saying that 10 times fast.

Ingredients:

2 cups chopped greens of any kind (I used kale)
1/3 cup grated each grated carrot and beet
1/4 cup chopped nuts (I used pumpkin seeds) 
1/3 cup cooked chickpeas (I keep a bag of frozen pre-cooked chickpeas handy) 
1/3 cup Monster Bowl Sauce

 Method:

1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl or dish, enjoy! 

Chefs notes: If you plan to pack this salad for lunch (highly recommended) I would pack the dressing separately so it doesn’t get all soggy. Also you can play around with the ingredients like using chopped almonds as the nut or lentils instead of chickpeas.

Image

Leave a Reply

