My first City Beet meal and how to keep greens fresh

Image

On Thursday I picked up my first City Beet Farm CSA weekly share of groceries. City Beet Farms is one of my favourite buisnesses/initiatives run by two of my best farmer friends Katie and Ruth. This weeks share included turnips, radishes, garlic scapes, spinach, arugula, salad mix, a huge bok choi, and various herbs. I was so excited to come home and cook with what was given to me. I felt like a Food Network Chef, being given ingredients and tasked with preparing a delicious and beautiful meal. But luckily the only taste buds I had to impress were my own and I wasn’t being judged by a celebrity. So I decided to roast those turnips in fresh rosemary and serve that with a side of sauteed turnip greens with Garam Masala spices and chickpeas.

Image

Rosemary Roasted Turnips

Ingredients:

5-6 small turnips (cut into 1 inch pieces)
2 tsp chopped fresh rosemary 
1 tbsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste 

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 375F. Chop turnips and lay out on a baking sheet. Drizzle with olive oil and herbs and seasonings. 

2. Bake for 20-30 minutes until slightly golden brown and a fork pokes through easily. 

 

Image

Wilted Turnip Greens and Chickpeas 

Ingredients:

1/3 cup cooked chickpeas 
1 bunch of turnip greens (you can use any greens like kale, chard, collard etc.) 
1 garlic scape (or 1 clove of garlic) 
1 tbsp olive oil 
2 tsp Garam Masala (or other curry powder) 
salt and pepper to taste

Method:

1. Chop greens roughly and dice garlic scape (or clove). 

2. Heat olive oil in a pan over medium heat. Add greens, garlic and chickpeas. Sautee for about 2 minutes until greens are slightly wilted.

3. Add spices and seasonings and sautee until greens are completely wilted. 

And now a few words on storing veggies…

Image

After picking up my share on Thursday I rushed home and made sure that everything was stored to maximize freshness and longevity. The following are a few rules/guidelines to follow when choosing to store veggies and greens.

1. Keep it sealed. I find the best way to keep greens such as spinach, kale, chard, collard, even bok choi is to keep it sealed. I use a clean preused plastic bag with a zip lock top to store my greens. You can also use any other sealed plastic container or tupperware. I have also been reusing those salad boxes that spinach comes in as a sealed storage container. 

2. Keep it cool. This is an obvious one, “duh”, but you should try to get those greens to a cool place quickly after purchase or pick up to keep their freshness.

3. Keep it slightly moist.  Here’s a tip, not all hope is lost if your greens get a bit wilty on the way home from pick-up or purchase. Put a teaspoon of cold water at the bottom of the sealed container or bag and put it in the fridge. The next day your greens should be as crisp as when they were first picked. 

Now go forth and eat some greens! After storing them properly of course. 

2 Comments on “My first City Beet meal and how to keep greens fresh”

  1. Mum says:

    Congrats to City Beets on their first ‘harvest’ and to you Ivy for turning their crop into a visually delicious meal. Wish I was there to share it with you.

  2. Daddo says:

    So happy to see City Beets feeding us so well and so early in the season. Can’t wait for the next delivery! Nice looking meal too Ivy. Simple, tasty and good fer ya.


Leave a Reply

