Classic Overnight Oats

I’m a huge oatmeal fan. There is nothing cozier than a warm bowl of hot oats to start off the day. But when summer hits, I find that I don’t want something warm in the morning. So if you’re an oat lover, and want an alternative to winter warm oats this is it. Not to mention it’s quick, it is literally a 2 step process! Instead of cooking the oats, you soak them. I usually throw this together the evening before, store it in the fridge and grab-it-and-go the next morning. The great thing about this recipe is that it is totally adaptable to your taste bud preferences as well working off of the basic recipe.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Classic Overnight Oats

Ingredients (1 serving):
1/3 cup regular oats
1 cup almond milk, and more if needed
2 tablespoons chia seeds
1 tbsp liquid sweetner (I use maple syrup)

Optional add-ins before it goes in the fridge:

  • chopped walnuts
  • frozen berries
  • 1tbsp each hemp seeds and ground flax seeds
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

In the morning topping Ideas:

  • chopped banana
  • fresh berries
  • spoonful of almond butter

Method:

1. Mix together all ingredients in a bowl and place in fridge overnight covered. At this stage it will look a bit liquidy, but don’t worry, after the oats soak up the milk and the chia seeds gel up it will take on a more oatmeal-y texture.

2. In the morning, add your desired toppings, serve cold and enjoy the refreshing taste of soaked oats. Probably your new favourite breakfast?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As always thanks for reading and please leave a comment to let me know your favourite summer breakfast ideas.

 

10 Comments on “Classic Overnight Oats”

  1. Mum says:

    Still can’t seem to give up my hot oatmeal…..even in the summer but will give this a try soon.

  2. Pia says:

    I am eating my cold oatmeal right now and it’s delicious!

  3. I love my oatmeal too, but I’ve never tried overnight oats. I love that you add chia seeds, they are so healthful! Anyway, we’re supposed to be getting some hot weather around here soon, so I just might try this. Celeste 🙂

  4. Freedom Fro says:

    Mind blown!! Trying this tonight 🙂

  5. Freedom Fro says:

    I tried this last night with some of my homemade almond milk. It was an incredible breakfast! Flavourful, filling, and it tasted like I was having a treat.


Leave a Reply

