Kohlrabi Curry

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Kohlrabi is a new vegetable for me. Some call it a mix between broccoli and cabbage. I call it delicious. It appeared in my CSA box last week and I immediately began thinking of what I could cook with it. I decided to go for a simple curry and I even served the curry up on some steamed kohlrabi leaves.

 

Kohlrabi Curry 

Ingredients:
2 garlic scapes or 1 clove of garlic (diced)
1 tbsp olive oil (for sauteeing)
1 “bulb” of kohlrabi (peeled and chopped into bite sized chunks)
2 tsp curry powder
pinch of red chili flakes
1 1/2 cups cooked chickpeas
1/3 cup chopped kale (about one or two leafs worth)
1 cup crushed tomatoes
1 1/2 cups water + 1 tsp veggie bouillon powder or cube
salt  and pepper to taste

Method:

1. Sautee garlic and kohlrabi in a pan with olive oil for 5 minutes. Add spices and chickpeas and sautee for another 5 minutes to blend spices.

2. Add the kale and crushed tomatoes and mix well. Add only ½ cup water and let simmer, uncovered until the water absorbs.

3. Pour in the remaining 1 cup of water and cover, stirring every 5 minutes. Let simmer for about 20 minutes or until kohlrabi is tender and not crunchy anymore. Serve on top of rice or quinoa. With steamed* kohlrabi or collard leaves.

*To steam leaves, chop off stems, place in a bath of boiling water for 1 minute. Remove and let cool. OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

5 Comments on “Kohlrabi Curry”

  1. genevieve barrons says:

    Made this for dinner tonight. It smells delicious. So excited to eat it! Thanks for the recipe…

  2. randmname says:

    My CSA included a URL to this recipe (Growing Home in Chicago) and all I can say is WOW! This is great!

    I had 2 weeks’ worth of kohlrabi so I basically doubled everything – 2 kohlrabi, 1 lg can of crushed tomatoes, 2 cans of garbanzo beans… but I also used a secret ingredient, Jamaican Curry. To my taste, I used about 3x the amount recommended, but again this was Jamaican not Indian curry spice.

  3. […] had Cucumber Raita last night with this yummy Kohlrabi Curry (because I still had one of those pesky kohlrabis lurking in the crisper). It was the perfect […]


Leave a Reply

