Sesame Cabbage No-slaw

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Coleslaw is one of those foods I have never liked. As a kid I didn’t like anything with a dressing or a sauce so that pretty much ruled out a lot of foods. Slowly as I aged I began to develop a taste for sauces and dressings but unfortunately coleslaw is still on my no-no list. But here’s a “coleslaw like” recipe that I think is my new favourite salad. My farmer friends Ruth and Katie introduced me to this dish and I can’t get enough! A delicious refreshing take on coleslaw with a unique Asian flavour!

Sesame Cabbage Salad (makes a large-ish bowls worth…about 3 servings)

Sesame Dressing:

3 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp vinegar (I used apple cider, you can also use rice or balsamic)
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp toasted sesame oil
pinch red pepper flakes

Salad:

½ cabbage head, chopped
3 carrots, grated
2 leaves of kale, chopped
1 beet, grated
3 spring onion sprigs, diced
1 avocado, chopped into cubes
1 tbsp toasted sesame seeds

Method:

1. Combine dressing ingredients in a sealable jar and shake until well combined.

2. Combine all salad ingredients (excepte sesame seeds) in a bowl and toss.

3. Drizzle dressing over top of salad, mix around and sprinkle with sesame seeds.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

