Summer Foraging and Fruit Crisp

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERASummer has been better than ever here in Vancouver.  Well that’s not really saying much since it’s my first summer in Vancity. I love it! With the long hot days I’ve been taking every opportunity to be outside, hence why I haven’t been blogging as regularly lately. My friends and I went on a foraging adventure last night after discovering that the clever people over at the City of Vancouver planted plumb trees along the boulevards. Plumb trees that bear deliciously supple and sweet cherry sized plumbs. Last night my friends and I ventured out with the ladder and picked some plumbs. After harvesting several dozen small plumbs we called it a night, split up our yield, each or us going home with a sizeable bag of juicy plumbs to do with whatever we pleased.

I decided to make crisp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Summer Foraged Plumb Crisp (makes 2 servings) –You can double or even triple this recipe to make more for the whole family!

Fruit:
2 cups chopped plumbs
3 tbsp whole wheat flour
¼ tsp allspice/nutmeg/cinnamon

Crisp:
½ cup oats
1 tsp cinnamon
½ tsp allspice
¼ cup brown sugar
3 heaping tablespoons of coconut oil, butter or butter alternative
pinch of salt
¼ cup chopped raw nuts/seeds  (optional) -I used hemp seeds

Method:

1. Combine fruit ingredients in a small oven safe dish, mixing flour well with the fruit.

2. Combine crisp ingredients in a separate bowl and mix well until the coconut oil is well integrated with the dry mixture.

3. Top the fruit ingredients with the crisp ingredients. Bake in the oven at 350F for 30-40 minutes (the time will depend on the size of dish you are using). I can usually tell when it’s done when the plumb juice starts bubbling up out the top of the crisp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Crisps are my favourite dessert. Such a simple, delicious and adaptable dish that can be enjoyed all year around. What’s your favourite summer dessert?

2 Comments on “Summer Foraging and Fruit Crisp”

  1. Mum says:

    Turned out great Ivy. My favourite summer dessert is fresh fruit like strawberries, blueberries, and blackberries, topped with homemade yogourt and granola. But I bet you already knew that…..

  2. Lissa says:

    This looks so flavorful! Fruit crisps are such a good, light dessert. Yum.


Leave a Reply

