Blackberries

It was not until Friday when I begrudgingly handed my camera, wrapped tightly in bubble wrap and nestled in a cardboard box, over to the man behind the Canada Post desk that I realized my camera is an important part of my life. It acts as the vessel that allows me to display my recipes and show you what I’ve cooked up and hopefully inspire you to get cooking. It lets me capture memories of loved ones, moments of awe, and times of accomplishment. My camera needs a repair and this is the only way to do it. Unfortunately, this means I can’t post current photos on my blog for the next several weeks which, I have to say, is tough for me. So for the next few weeks, I am challenging myself to find creative ways of displaying my recipes to you. Today I chose to paint a watercolour of a blackberry and took the photo with my iphone. 

Image

 

To make up for the lack of photo, I will also give you two recipes. Blackberries have been my fruit of choice for the past few weeks and it’s probably because I have been foraging them any chance I get. From alleyways to local parks, I have taken full advantage of the accessibility of these berries in this city and I’ve met some interesting people while picking berries from random bushes. Mostly people that use their vehicles as homes, but still very interesting and friendly people.

RECIPE # 1: 

Blackberry Gelato

1 cup frozen blackberries
1 cup unsweetened almond milk (or your milk of choice)
1 tbsp agave syrup 

Method:

1. Blend all ingredients until smooth. 

2. Pour into a sealable container and place in freezer. Leave in freezer for 2.5 hours until solid-ish. Stir every 30 minutes, scraping edges of the container. Alternatively you can enjoy this right away as a slightly more liquid gelato topped with your favourite granola. 

RECIPE # 2: 

Blackberry-Basil Smoothie (inspired by this recipe I found on Pinterest) 

1 cup frozen blackberries
1 cup water
1 banana
splash of vanilla
6-10 fresh basil leaves 

Method:

1. Blend all ingredients well. Enjoy. 

I enjoyed this smoothie this morning and it was so delicious! I never thought basil would be good in a smoothie, but it complements the tartness of the blackberries so well! What’s your favourite blackberry recipe? 

2 Comments on “Blackberries”

  1. Mum says:

    Nice watercolour. Wish we could pick blackberries here.

  2. Daddo says:

    I like the way you improvise Ivy. Watercolor painting instead of a photo. You going to fly to France next time you run out of Champagne? 🙂 Nice fresh summer recipes Ivy. Keep ’em coming!!


Leave a Reply

