Cabin Cookies

Image

I’m writing this post from inside a cozy cabin near the beach as the rain pitter patters outside. I’m in one of my favourite places in the world: Tofino. Almost every summer since I was about 13 years old, my parents have packed up our family to make the trek to this beautiful place. I remember the adrenaline rush I felt after catching my first wave. How fascinated I was to discover that the earth held so much energy and power. I’ve learned to love the refreshingly cold ocean water splashing my face as a swell passes by or the sensation of my sore feet after a few days of walking and running barefoot on the sand.

This recipe uses no flour, but instead ground oats, making the ingredient list shorter and accommodating to those with gluten sensitivities.

Image

Cabin Cookies, gluten-free (makes 18 cookies)
Inspired by Roxana’s recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 cup room temperature butter or coconut oil
scant 3/4 cup brown sugar
1 egg
3 tbsp milk (I used almond milk)
1 1/4 cup oat flour (or rolled oats out through a food pro, blender or coffee grinder)
1 1/2 cup whole rolled oats
1/2 cup chopped nuts (I used walnuts)
1 tsp baking powder
chocolate chunks broken off from a chocolate bar (optional)

Method:

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Cream sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add eggs and milk, mix well.

2. In a separate bowl combine the remaining dry ingredients, stirring well.

3. Mix the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients. Once dough is thoroughly combined. Scoop desired cookie size amount of dough onto a cookie sheet. Note that these cookies won’t spread much so don’t worry about putting them nice and close together.

4. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let cool completely (at least 20 minutes) before eating …I know it’s tempting to eat them right out of the oven but they are quite crumbly when they are oven fresh.

Image

P.s. Thanks to my mum for being an awesome hand model!

2 Comments on “Cabin Cookies”

  1. Terry Smith says:

    Wish I were there to try them. Guess I’ll have to bake my own now that I have this great recipe. Thanks Ivy. Catch a monster wave for me.

  2. Ev says:

    Love the photograph! They look delicious 🙂


Leave a Reply

