Raw Buckwheat Breakfast Bowl

Buckwheat Porridge

I recently paid a visit to a naturopath seeking a remedy for my digestive troubles. She hooked me up to an electrode machine thingy to test for food sensitivities. Wheat, tomatoes, onion, garlic, peanuts, MSG, dairy, eggs and oranges were among the many foods she listed and recommended I avoid for the next 2 months as part of the treatment process. At first I was seriously bummed by all of these limitations. After a few hours of sulking, I sucked it up and changed my outlook on the whole situation.  Instead of a serious inconvenience I saw this as a fun culinary challenge and a chance to explore unusual ingredients. All week long I have been finding ways to adapt recipes to accommodate for my food limitations. This is a breakfast thats is super tasty, gluten, dairy and sugar free.

Despite it’s name buckwheat is actually a wheat-free grain, so it landed itself on my list of grains to experiment with. I’ve also been trying to incorporate variety in  my diet, rather than eating the same thing each day, that means not  eating oatmeal every single morning. This cold porridge is actually a really lovely way to start the day.

Buckwheat Porridge

Raw Buckwheat Breakfast Bowl Inspired by one of my all time favourite food bloggers and role models Oh She Glows.
Serves 1

1/3 cup raw buckwheat groats
1 cup + 1 tbsp almond milk
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp honey or maple syrup
1 tbsp almond butter
Optional but recommended chopped banana
Optional toppings: hemp seeds, chia seeds

Method:

1. Let buckwheat groats soak in milk overnight or at least 1 hour. I usually put mine in a covered bowl in the fridge.

2. Put 3/4 of the soaked buckwheat and honey in a blender, food processor or magic bullet and puree until smooth. Pour 3/4 of the pureed mixture with the un-pureed buckwheat in a bowl. Note: You can choose to puree everything, but I like the crunchy texture of the buckwheat so I like to leave a bit un-pureed.

3. You should now have about 1/4 cup of pureed buckwheat in your blender. Add the almond butter and the tbsp of extra milk and blend until smooth.

4. Combine everything in one bowl and add the chopped banana and toppings as desired.

I’d love to know if anyone has any tips or tricks for gluten free cooking, naturopaths or digestive issues. If you do, please comment below or message me via the ivysmushbowl Facebook page.

Buckwheat Porridge

Leave a Reply

